UCLA School of Law Celebrates 2016 Alumni of the Year Honorees

UCLA School of Law Celebrates 2016 Alumni of the Year Honorees

April 27, 2016 – UCLA School of Law is proud to announce the recipients of its 2016 Alumni of the Year Awards:  Michelle Banks ’88 is the honoree for Professional Achievement, and David Lash ‘80 is the honoree for Public and Community Service.  The awards will be presented at the annual Alumni of the Year luncheon on Tuesday, May 3, 2016 at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

“Michelle Banks and David Lash are two of our most highly accomplished, forward-thinking and distinguished UCLA Law graduates, and they have given so much to serving the interests and needs of others while also contributing in countless ways to both the legal profession and UCLA Law community,” said Jennifer L. Mnookin, dean of UCLA School of Law. “Through their exceptional professional leadership, they each serve as stellar role models for our current students, our alumni, and the whole profession. We are enormously proud of them both.” 

Michelle Banks is chair of the board of directors of Minority Corporate Counsel Association, a nonprofit advancing diversity and inclusion in corporations and their law firms.  She also co-chairs UCLA Law Women LEAD, an initiative she co-founded to empower and advance women students and alumnae, and serves as a Commissioner for the American Bar Association’s Commission on Women in the Profession where she focuses her efforts on increasing gender equity. She is the former Executive Vice President, Global General Counsel, Corporate Secretary and Chief Compliance Officer of global apparel retailer Gap Inc.  Additionally, during 2015 she also served as the Senior Executive leading the Alliance for Bangladesh Worker Safety, a one of a kind consortium of 26 primarily North American retailers that Gap Inc. co-founded in 2013.

David A. Lash is the managing counsel for Pro Bono and Public Interest Services for O’Melveny & Myers LLP, overseeing the firm’s national and international pro bono program.  Under his leadership, O’Melveny’s pro bono program has received the American Bar Association’s prestigious Pro Bono Publico Award and consistently been recognized as one of the top 10 pro bono programs in the United States.  Prior to joining O’Melveny, David was executive director of Bet Tzedek, one of the largest and most successful non-profit legal services agencies in the United States.  He has been named by California Lawyer as an Attorney of the Year, as one of the country’s top 500 lawyers by LawDragon, and he is a recipient of the prestigious Rose L. Schiff Commitment to Justice Award from Bet Tzedek Legal Services.

Established in 1962, the Alumni of the Year Awards honor the extraordinary achievements of UCLA Law alumni. The award for Public and Community Service recognizes leadership, philanthropy and a commitment to public service. Recent past recipients include Linda T. Sanchez ’95, the Honorable Joan Dempsey Klein ’54, Ronald L. Brown ’79, the Honorable Sandra Segal Ikuta ’88 and David Fleming ’59. The award for Professional Achievement recognizes distinguished career accomplishments and contributions made to the profession. Recent past recipients include Sandra Stern ’79, Martine Rothblatt ’81, Melanie Cook ’78, David Steiner ’86, John Branca ’75 and Nancy Abell ’79.

About UCLA School of Law
Founded in 1949, UCLA School of Law is the youngest major law school in the nation and has established a tradition of innovation in its approach to teaching, research and scholarship. With approximately 100 faculty and 970 students, the school pioneered clinical teaching, is a leader in interdisciplinary research and training and is at the forefront of efforts to link research to meaningful change in society and the legal profession. For more information, please visit law.ucla.edu. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Contact: Kathy Wyer, (310) 206-1766, wyer@law.ucla.edu